Sept-Îles

Port Authority

Formerly managed by the Canadian government, the Port of Sept-Îles became an autonomous organization in 1999. Since then we have been a local organization managed and run by the people of Sept-Îles. Our development vision is based solely on the needs and realities of our community.

Our

mission

The Port of Sept-Îles promotes partnership and sustainable regional development in providing quality facilities and services and leveraging the natural advantages of the bay of Sept Îles.

Message from

the President and CEO

In December 2020, the Port of Sept-Îles proudly announced it had passed the mark of 30 million tonnes of goods shipped—before the year had even come to a close. It was a level of activity not seen since the iron industry’s late-1970s boom, when the Port ranked second in Canada. Reaching this major milestone was one of the main highlights of 2020 and it cemented the Port’s position as a leader among North America’s top-tier cargo ports.

Board of

Directors

With the passing of the Canada Marine Act in 1998, the Port of Sept-Îles became an autonomous organization governed by a local board of directors. Meet our Board—a community of people who are deeply proud of their city and their Port! 

Gilles Couture

Provincial government representative

Serge Lévesque

Appointed by the Minister of Transport of Canada based on Port user recommendations

Jean-François Bonneau

Director | Appointed by the City of Sept-Îles

Mirka Boudreau

Director | Appointed by the Minister of Transport of Canada based on Port user recommendations

Gilles Couture

Director | Provincial government representative

Nancy Jourdain

Vice Chair | Government of Canada representative | Appointed by the Minister of Transport of Canada

Bernard Lynch

Chair | Appointed by the Minister of Transport of Canada based on Port user recommendations

Our dedicated

crew

The Port of Sept-Îles is known for its partnership-driven culture and talented team of ambassadors who embody our commitment to sustainably developing the city’s port and economic activities. Whether supporting our customers or our community, we combine the strength of an international port with the generosity of a caring neighbour.

Pierre D. Gagnon, ing.

President & Chief Executive Officer
Phone. : 418 961-1223
pgagnon@portsi.com

Carl Allard, ing.

Director, Mechanical & Electrical Maintenance
Phone. : 418 968-1231 poste 1245
callard@portsi.com

Véronique Boudreau

Director, Finance & Administration
Phone. : 418 961-1238
vboudreau@portsi.com

Manon D’Auteuil, ing.

Director, Engineering & Sustainable Development
Phone. : 418 961-1237
mdauteuil@portsi.com

Aurélien Desplanques

Reliability Technician
Phone. : 418 968-1231 poste 1244
adesplanques@portsi.com

Shawn Grant

Harbour Master & Port Security Officer
Phone. : 418 961-1229
sgrant@portsi.com

Marie-Ève Guérin

Human Resources & Administration Manager
Phone. : 418 961-1226
mguerin@portsi.com

Patsy Keays

Director, Corporate Affairs & Corporate Secretary
Phone. : 418 961-1235
pkeays@portsi.com

Paul Leblanc, ing.

Project Engineer
Phone. : 418 961-1239
pleblanc@portsi.com

Raynald Ouellet, ing.

Vice President, Operations & Business Development
Phone. : 418 961-1224
rouellet@portsi.com

Julian Potvin

Operations & Maintenance Planner Supervisor
Phone. : 418 968-1231 poste 1243
jpotvin@portsi.com

Joël Richard

Operations Technician
Phone. : 418 961-1225
jrichard@portsi.com

Mélissa Sanikopoulos

Environmental Advisor
Phone. : 418 961-1222
msanikopoulos@portsi.com

32

Chart a

new course

by joining our crew

Looking for a rewarding career at one of Canada’s largest ports? Set your sights on the Port of Sept-Îles! Enjoy a one-of-a-kind work experience on a team of local residents committed to the region’s socioeconomic development.

Your cruise on this page ends here.
Choose a new destination!

Learn the history of the Port and Sept-Îles: A chronology of major events from the end of the last ice age to the present day.

Take a sneak peek at the ships visiting us this week in the bay of Sept Îles. 

Explore North America’s largest mineral port facilities from wherever you are using 360° immersive technology.